IAIFI Committees

IAIFI is establishing committees that include a mix of faculty, postdocs, and students to plan and coordinate primary IAIFI activities. Current IAIFI Committees and their details are are listed below. If you are interested in joining any of the committees below, email iaifi@mit.edu.

Computing Committee

  • Status: New committee, actively seeking members
  • Oversees the management of IAIFI computing resources, explores additional computing solutions, and identifies opportunities for training in the utilization of computing resources and tools
  • Time commitment: One meeting per month, with some input or information gathering needed between meetings
  • Primary Contact: Email Will Detmold (Chair)

Industry Partnership Committee

  • Status: New committee, actively seeking members
  • Develops and disseminates information to help IAIFI members understand job/internships in industry and brainstorms opportunities for connecting with industry and developing partnerships
  • Time Commitment: Expected one-hour meeting per month and time spent developing materials (on volunteer basis)
  • Primary Contact: Email Todd Zickler (Chair)

Public Engagement Committee

  • Status: Seeking additional members
  • Develops educational materials for use in outreach activities, such as classroom visits, and brainstorms opportunities for outreach (including festivals, museum exhibits, etc)
  • Time Commitment: One-hour meeting every 3-4 weeks and time spent developing materials (on volunteer basis)
  • 2022 Outreach Committee: Brent Nelson (Chair), Harold Erbin, Tri Nguyen
  • Primary Contact: Email Brent Nelson

Community Building Committee

  • Status: Accepting additional members
  • Brainstorms and plans community building events (such as coffee hours, social events, meet-ups, etc.)
  • Time Commitment: One-hour meeting per month and time spent helping with event setup occasionally
  • 2022 Community Building Committee: Matt Schwartz (Chair), Mike Williams, Mehmet Demirtas, Niklas Nolte, Ouail Kitouni, Sona Najafi
  • Primary Contact: Email Matt Schwartz

Early Career and Equity Committee

  • Status: Will rotate membership in January 2023
  • View the ECEC expectations
  • Time Commitment: One-hour meeting per month and occasional email discussion
  • 2022 ECEC: Tracy Slatyer (Chair), Edo Berger, Sean Benevedes, Mehmet Demirtas, Anindita Maiti, Rashmish Mishra, Siddharth Mishra-Sharma, Nikita Saxena
  • Primary Contact: Email Tracy Slatyer

Speaker Selection Committee

  • Status: Will rotate membership in Fall 2022
  • Identifies and invites speakers to the IAIFI Seminars and Colloquia and introduces speakers ad needed
  • Time Commitment: One or two two-hour meetings every semester and attendance at talks
  • 2022 Speaker Selection Committee: Cora Dvorkin (Colloquium Organizer), Demba Ba (Seminar Organizer), Dan Roberts, Di Luo, Nayantara Mudur, Arkopal Dutt
  • Primary Contacts: Email Cora Dvorkin or email Demba Ba

Summer School and Workshop Committee

  • Status: Will rotate membership in Fall 2022
  • Plans and coordinates the IAIFI Summer School and Workshop, including identifying and inviting lecturers and plenary speakers, developing the schedule, and reviewing applicants to the Summer School
  • Time Commitment: One two-hour meeting every 2-3 months and time spent helping at the Summer School/Workshop *2022 Summer School and Workshop Committee: Jim Halverson (Chair), Tess Smidt, Anna Golubeva, Jeffrey Lazar, Peter Lu, Dylan Rankin *Primary Contact: Email Jim Halverson

Journal Club Organizers

  • Status: No additional organizers needed at this time, but sign up here to lead a Journal Club
  • Schedules and coordinates the IAIFI Journal Club and introduces Journal Club presenters
  • Time Commitment: One-hour meeting per semester, attendance at Journal Club every 1-2 weeks, and time spent inviting presenters
  • 2022 Journal Club Organizers: Andrew Tan and John Martyn
  • Primary Contact: Email Andrew Tan or email John Martyn